Waiting for Whatever

There’s been a lot of buzz in the past couple months over the movie Waiting For Superman, which is basically an attempt to reduce the complexity of public education to a 90 minute popcorn-seller with a hero (charter schools) and a villain (teachers’ unions). I finally saw it last week, then spent a few days mulling over an an appropriately nuanced response.  Drafts were composed, sentences reframed,  statistics gathered.

But then, as it often does, my working reality took over and I ultimately realized that I’d rather be actually making the changes I want to see in the system than belaboring the fact that more change is needed.

Thus, I leave it to the truly fabulous Ms. Mimi to express most if not all of the outrage I could otherwise put together if progress reports weren’t happening:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mrs-mimi/teachers-are-waiting-for-_b_760060.html

What’s left to do but add a snarky graphic and call it a day?

Ps. John Legend was homeschooled.  Awesome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting for Whatever

  1. anonymous says:

    Had to laugh when I saw the graph, but unfortunately it’s probably true.

  2. Laura says:

    You crack me up. And it would be really hilarious if it wasn’t also sadly true. Bleh!

Leave a Reply

